How to calculate the trajectory of an object under rotating thrust?

Feb 2020
Chicago
Apologies if this is the wrong space for this question. I'm a hobbiest programmer working on a 2D video game. I've spent a good amount of time searching for a solution to this online.

I have an object.
I know the mass.
I know the initial velocity.
The environment it is in is frictionless.
The object emits thrust like a rocket from behind itself, but loses no mass.
The force of the thrust is constant, but user defined.
The object is under a constant, but user-defined rotation.

I am trying to find a formula to predict the location of the object, knowing how long it has been under constant rotation and thrust.

The goal is to have the game plot the trajectory as a line so the user knows the probable outcome of their movement orders. Any help or guidance as to where I could find this is greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

romsek

Math Team
Sep 2015
USA
The relationship of the spin axis and the thrust vector are going to be rather important on this one.

Do you have this?

Reactions: DangerFace
Feb 2020
Chicago
Hi Romsek.

I believe I have that. I had look up those terms to be sure.

The object's spin is locked to one axis.

If it were a coin, like a quarter, it would be laying face up on a table. It would rotate around the center of the quarter.

The thrust vector would be in a line that could be drawn through the center of the quarter out past the edge of the quarter. Let's say the thrust is coming out of the edge by the center of the head's neck.

As the quarter rotates, the thrust would continue to come out of that same location on the quarter.

As I am trying to keep the game simple, rotating itself does not change the quarter's velocity at all.

Does that help? I can submit photos or a link to video if the actual movement if that helps.

romsek

Math Team
Sep 2015
USA
like this?

Clipboard01.jpg

Apr 2014
UK