Find the coordinates of the point(s) at which the curve has the specified gradient

Sep 2017
Latvia/Denmark
Hello.
I come here because I am in need of help. I am desperate. I just started learning at a university, and I do not understand a lot of things here. I will just add a picture of what I do not understand. If someone would help me, it'd mean the world to me...

I do not understand how to do the D, and I am stuck in C also... so, firstly I need the D, but if you would be so kind and explain the C also, I'd be really grateful.
P.S. What would you suggest for a person who hasn't studied derivatives and slopes, but desperately needs to know this?

Last edited by a moderator:

skipjack

Forum Staff
Dec 2006
If the given equation is effectively $y = x^n$, where $n$ is a constant, the gradient is given by the derivative of $y$, which is $nx^{n-1}\!$. To learn about this, read any textbook that introduces calculus for beginners or use an online course. If you can't cope with the former, try the latter (but it may take longer if it includes watching lengthy videos).

(d) Assuming that $x > 0$, you effectively have $y = x^{-3/2}\!$, so you need to solve $-{\small\dfrac32}x^{-5/2} = -\small\dfrac{3}{64}$, which simplifies to $x^{5/2} = 32$. That implies that $x^{1/2} = 2$, so $x = 4$.

If you do (c) similarly, you should find you need to solve $-2x^{-3} = 16$, which simplifies to $x^3 = -1/8$. Can you solve that?

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 person
Sep 2017
Latvia/Denmark
If the given equation is effectively $y = x^n$, where $n$ is a constant, the gradient is given by the derivative of $y$, which is $nx^{n-1}\!$. To learn about this, read any textbook that introduces calculus for beginners or use an online course. If you can't cope with the former, try the latter (but it may take longer if it includes watching lengthy videos).