Books for adult going to college after graduating high school over 5 years ago?

Dec 2019
Wyoming
Hello all,

I graduated high school 6 years ago and I decided to go to college after several years in the trades. I took Algebra I through precalculus, but so much of it seems to be lost on me. I was accepted to the school's computer science program and there's a math requirement most semesters (Calculus, Multivariable Calculus, Linear Algebra, Differential Equations, Discrete Math, Statistics & Probability) and most "non-math" courses have a significant amount of math concepts involved. Our algorithms course, for instance, is programming language agnostic and largely proofs-based. We also have to take calculus based physics, etc.

I'm worried that having been away from mathematics for so long I will be at a disadvantage. After reading the first page of my calculus book I realized I didn't even have a solid grasp of trig functions. Does anyone have any book/textbook, video, or other resource recommendations so that I can get myself on the same page as everyone else or even get a "head start" before taking calculus?

skipjack

Forum Staff
Dec 2006
How many months do you have in which to catch up? Why did you choose a computer science course?

Dec 2019
Wyoming
I start Summer 2020. I'm just taking calculus for the summer and begin full time Fall 2020.

I've always enjoyed working with computers and trying to troubleshoot. I'm usually playing around various linux command line applications in my free time. Really I'd like to get into robotics development if possible. I love machines.
:D

Jun 2019
USA